The Fast and Furious……Lessons Learned

One of the bigger gigs I have shot in a while.  Dropkick Murphys at the Swiss Life Halle in Hannover, Germany. Admittedly I wasn’t there to shoot the headliners, I was there for one of the opening acts, The Mahones.

For those not aware, The Mahones are an Irish-born, Canadian Irish-punk band, formed in 1990 by Dublin-born Finny McConnell, as a one-off band for a St. Patrick’s Day party. The rest, as they say, is history……

The usual rules applied, first 3 songs from the pit then out.  Being a survivor of the UK punk era, and having researched my subject, I was well aware that the songs would be fast, furious and short.  Man, how I underestimated………..the fastest 3 songs ever!!!  Ordinarily this is not a great issue, the aim of this game is quality not quantity. Unfortunately for me though, I had made a schoolboy error which I only noticed when I downloaded the images to my computer at home.  Somehow my shutter speed was at 1/100th for the whole shoot (for the non photographer it means blurry images due to the band members being fast on their feet).  Gutted is an understatement.  I did manage to salvage a few images, it could have been a costly error though.  Lesson learned……..the hard way!!!

I was a bit disappointed with only having 1 DKM song to shoot, I suppose it’s their train set and Al Barr does like to get into the crowd close up.  All in all though, a fantastic night of Irish Punk.  A good friend of mine (Franky McPherson) commented that it would be like the Pogues on speed, how right he was!!!

My thanks go to Kate and The Mahones for their assistance, I’ll see you again.

 

The Mahones

Web/FB/TW

Some big concerts coming up so stayed tuned…….

 

Spike

SMP Photographs

www.smp-photographs.com

Leave a Reply

